Weekend Warrior

15 Jan

Abigail CashAnother weekend has almost passed, and I find myself swimming in lists and things I didn’t quite get done. Don’t you hate that? I’m in the middle of a third set of edits for my current book, and I have been dying to put pen to paper for the sequel, which has finally started budding in a tangible form in my head over the last couple of weeks. Added to that, you’ve got all the little things that must be done around the house, friends to catch up with and family to spend time with, and it seems like the hours just fall away.

Since I’m not working at this writing gig full-time, my hours are limited during the week when I can really sit down and devote myself to it. I often find that while ideas are swirling around in my head when I’m at my desk at work, by the time I get home at night, all I can think about is a hot meal and a nap. As much as I love my characters and the world I’ve created, I find myself saying, “Not tonight, guys. I’m beat.”

This last week, a writing buddy and I have started an editing schedule. An hour a day, no matter what. It worked so well that I think I may have to build in a writing hour as well. I’m starting to realize what a discipline writing is. It sounds funny when I say that, because I’ve been working on honing my words and story-telling for years, but this is the first time I have hit a brick wall and thought, this really is a second job.

Luckily, it is a job that I love a great deal more than my day job at the moment, and one that gives me joy and pleasure   that I just can’t find anywhere else.

If you’re like me and write on the side, what’s your method for staying on top of your manuscript and edits?

If you’re a full-time writer (I’m jealous), how do you manage your time?

3 Responses to “Weekend Warrior”

  1. Christopher Zara January 17, 2012 at 7:44 pm #

    It’s important to set time aside for writing and nothing else. When I’m working on a project, I have a strict “no Facebook, no tweeting, no blogging” policy during working hours. (Clearly, I’m having an off day today.)

    • abigailcash January 17, 2012 at 8:05 pm #

      Christopher, when I want to really get things done, I have to turn everything off, too. I know I’ll hit my word counts when I log off of my chat apps, close the web browser, and turn off the TV. Distractions are everywhere!

      • Christopher Zara January 20, 2012 at 2:51 am #

        I agree. It’s so hard to resit the urge.

Leave a Reply

