Resolve

29 Dec

I’m not really a person who does the whole “New Year’s Resolution” thing. At least, I didn’t think I was. And then last night, I was writing down all the things that I wanted to do in the next year. I didn’t call them resolutions…but the list went something like…

1. Eat Better

2. Lose Weight

3. Exercise More

4. Read More New Releases

5. Read the Classics On My To-Read List

6. Get My Manuscript Edited

7. Submit My Manuscript For Publication

You get the idea. And it occurred to me that this list of goals was exactly what  I always try to avoid: a list of New Year’s Resolutions.

It’s not that I don’t believe that the idea has merit. I think resolutions are a great way to look at the things you want to do with your life and start planning for a better year than the one before. But I think that the word “resolution” only gets us so far.

Resolution comes from the root word “resolve” which means to come to a firm / definite / earnest decision about whatever it is we are resolving. But what good did coming to a decision ever do anyone?

I don’t mean to downplay decision-making. It is certainly necessary to get on with the daily job of living. If no one ever made any decisions, we’d all be sitting around in our pj’s all day, watching TV and doing nothing productive. While that sounds awesome, it is not typically how success comes about.

What I’m saying, I guess, is that we need something past the act of “resolution” to complete our goals. We need action and support. I’ve found that support mattered to me more than any decision I made in the last year. Deciding was the easy part. But nothing that I accomplished would have happened if I had simply decided and then tried to act alone. I am not one of those happy few individuals who can provide all of their internal motivation and drive without any input from others. They are certainly out there, and I am in awe of them.

The rest of us, however, need friends and co-workers and even rivals to give us the oomph we need to make the important steps of action and completion. Without the help of others, all most of us (myself most definitely included) end up with is a list of decisions on a piece of paper, and a feeling that we failed.

Thank you to everyone who helped me and supported me this year. Whether you were there through my recent graduation and the three months of tortured studying for my license that occurred after that, during the drafting and early editing of my manuscript, or through the endless search for employment and meaning that has dominated my life since last spring…Thank you.

Who are the people who take your resolutions from decision to success?

6 Responses to “Resolve”

  1. Jen Barry December 29, 2011 at 5:24 pm #

    I always try to include resolutions that I’ll enjoy, such as visiting three cities I’ve never seen before or meeting one new friend. These kind of take the pressure off on those serious/painful ones, and they give me some excitement to look forward to in the new year. I can also look back and know for sure that I accomplished something.

    • abigailcash December 29, 2011 at 5:53 pm #

      That’s a good strategy! Meeting new friends is a fun one, I may have to add that to my non-resolutions 😉

      • Jen Barry December 29, 2011 at 5:58 pm #

        PS, I do some of my best work in my PJs. So there.

    • abigailcash December 29, 2011 at 8:12 pm #

      I would never dream of insulting pj’s, Jen!

  2. Rachel December 29, 2011 at 8:29 pm #

    I would lurk in decision making mode forever. My loving and supporting hubby helps me take the leap! I haven’t made ‘resolutions’ yet this year….maybe I will.

    • abigailcash December 29, 2011 at 8:33 pm #

      I have no problem making decisions…it’s the action part that trips me up! That’s where people who love and support me start the tough love process. It helps!

Leave a Reply

